President Nominee(s)

Daniel Schneider

Daniel is a high school Computer Science teacher at Amphitheater High School in Tucson, AZ. He is a facilitator for and has worked with Upperline Code leading student summer programs and teacher professional development workshops. He previously served as the CSTA-AZ Secretary, is on the CSTA 2020 National Planning Committee as the 9-12 Strand Lead, and co-organizes monthly community CSTA-AZ meetups in Tucson. You can find him on twitter at @MathyMcMatherso

Vice-President Nominee(s)

Michelle Cannon

Michelle is a High School Computer Science teacher at CREST in Phoenix AZ with 8 years teaching experience. She has taught everything from middle school science and computer science to AP CSP, Python and senior CS capstone. She is passionate about CS for all and providing a classroom where all students can be successful. 
She has worked with and Paradise Valley Unified school district to facilitate workshops that provide educators with the skills and resources to bring Computer Science into both the core science class and as a stand alone elective. This along with serving as the CSTA-AZ treasurer help her spread her enthusiasm for Computer Science while reaching under privileged districts and minorities.

Treasurer Nominee(s)

Jared O'Leary

Jared is a multiplicity with experience designing and facilitating a multitude of classes and subject areas in all grades Kindergarten through Graduate. At BootUp PD, Jared is the Director of Curriculum and Professional Development, where he creates 100% free elementary coding curricula and oversee district-wide professional development. Visit to view his curriculum vitae and to listen to the #CSK8 podcast.

Secretary Nominee(s)

Lotus Kaplan

Lotus currently works at Christ Lutheran school as the technology teacher for 5th-8th grade and the AV Coordinator. Prior work experience includes: IT Director at a small private school in Scottsdale and Instructional Technology Coordinator at Scottsdale Unified School District. She is a partner for a small professional development company that has trained tech integration throughout the Southwest and currently partners with to train CS Fundamentals.  

West Maricopa Region Director Nominee(s)

Leon Tynes

Leon teaches technology to K-8 students at the Academy of Math and Sciences-Desert Sky charter school in Phoenix, Arizona. Prior to joining AMS Desert Sky, he developed the technology program from inception to include courses such as AP Computer Science Principles (APCSP), 3D Modeling and Animation, Digital Media, E-Commerce and Mobile Computer Science Principles. I had the pleasure of working closely with the College Board to provide diversity perspectives in CS education and participated in their annual Facebook APCSP Teacher Summit. He is also a Mobile CSP Master Teacher and was an APCSP reader (grader) for the past three years. His accolades awards include 2016 Henry Ford Teacher Innovator award, 2016 PBS Digital Innovator, 2017 Grosvenor Teacher Fellow (Galapagos), 2017 ISTE Technology in Action award, 2018 Fulbright Teachers for Global Classrooms Fellow (Morocco), 2018 ISTE Outstanding Teacher, 2019 Jacobs Educator award, 2019-20 CS for All Teachers Ambassador, 2019 CS for All Teachers Ambassador & 2019 CSTA/Infosys Award for Teaching Excellence.

Northern Arizona Region Director Nominee(s)

Jesus Osuna

Jesus have a bachelor's degree in Career & Technical Education with an emphasis on Business & Marketing. This is his fifth full year teaching at Fox Creek Junior High in Bullhead City, Arizona. During that time, he has transformed his classroom from a computer technology class in which students learned applied skills such as word processing, spreadsheets, and keyboarding into a Computer Science & Digital Media classroom in which students learn computer science concepts while using physical hardware like micro:bits, Raspberry Pis, Circuit Playgrounds, and VEX Robotics. This summer he had the privilege of attending AZ CSPD, in which he partook in the's CS Discoveries training which is now being fully implemented into two block courses. It would be an honor to represent Mohave County and the Northern Arizona section of computer science teachers as a CSTA-Arizona Board Member.